Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult

Small Great Things

This is such a wonderful book that I’m reposting my review.

I was thinking today of some of my greatest influences, even as a child. Dr. King, Selma, Maya, Mahalia and Dinah Washington.  For some reason, maybe reincarnation? I have always felt a pull.  The first time I heard Dinah sing, “This Bitter Earth”, I cried. When I heard Mahalia sing, “It is No Secret”, I cried.  Maya’s “Still I Rise”, Dr King’s “I Have A Dream”, and when I learned of the events in Selma, I cried.  And recently, after reading Small Great Things.  I don’t cry easily, I really don’t.  And I can’t stand racism, bigotry and xenophobia.

Back to Small Great Things. This book moved me to tears. It is sad, poignant, though-provoking, touching, gripping and compelling.  Without a doubt, this book will be on my favorites shelf.

I have often said that I am “colorblind and a humanist”. I very much believe that everyone should be regarded equally with respect. To me, we are all God’s children. Black, white, gay, straight, Hispanic, Asian, Muslim or Mormon none of it matters to me as neither does creed or religion. As long as you’re not hurting anyone, I believe you should be able to live your life, in peace.

Ruth Jefferson is a labor and delivery nurse at a Connecticut hospital with more than twenty years’ experience. During her shift, Ruth begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few minutes later that she’s been reassigned to another patient. The parents are white supremacists and don’t want Ruth, who is African American, to touch their child. The hospital complies with their request, but the next day, the baby goes into cardiac distress while Ruth is alone in the nursery. Does she obey orders or does she intervene?  The infant ends up dying and Ruth is charged with murder and committing a hate crime.

Kennedy McQuarrie, a white public defender, takes her case but gives unexpected advice: Kennedy insists that mentioning race in the courtroom is not a winning strategy. Conflicted by Kennedy’s counsel, Ruth tries to keep life as normal as possible for her family—especially her teenage son—as the case becomes a media sensation. As the trial moves forward, Ruth and Kennedy must gain each other’s trust, and come to see that what they’ve been taught their whole lives about others—and themselves—might be wrong.

A couple of poignant statements:

“I am not a racist, Ruth. And I understand that you’re upset, but it’s a little unfair of you to take it out on me, when I’m just trying to do my best—my professional best—to help you. For God’s sake, if I’m walking down a street and a Black man is coming toward me and I realize I’m going the wrong way, I keep going the wrong direction instead of turning around so he won’t automatically think I’m afraid of him.” “That’s overcompensating, and that’s just as bad,” I say. “You say you don’t see color…but that’s all you see. You’re so hyperaware of it, and of trying to look like you aren’t prejudiced, you can’t even understand that when you say race doesn’t matter all I hear is you dismissing what I’ve felt, what I’ve lived, what it’s like to be put down because of the color of my skin.”

“Active racism is telling a nurse supervisor that an African American nurse can’t touch your baby. It’s snickering at a black joke. But passive racism? It’s noticing there’s only one person of color in your office and not asking your boss why. It’s reading your kid’s fourth-grade curriculum and seeing that the only black history covered is slavery, and not questioning why. It’s defending a woman in court whose indictment directly resulted from her race…and glossing over that fact, like it hardly matters.”

Oh my God. I am guilty of that and I am sorry.  I would never intentionally dismiss what anyone has lived through, especially the black community.  A tweet today from the Women’s March:  “Throughout history, violence has been committed and justified in the name of white womanhood.  Terence Crutcher is no exception.”

I remember Dr. King saying “if you’re not part of the solution, you’re part of the problem.”  And I am left with the question, what can I do to make a difference?

43 thoughts on “Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult

Add yours

    1. Thank you. It is without a doubt, one of the best books I’ve read. I just learned it will be a movie starring the wonderful, lovely Viola Davis.
      I’m going to read your 10 lessons post

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! It’s so easy to write about the ones that break your heart and make you think. Oh! And I read that it will be made into a movie starring Viola Davis as Ruth and Julia Roberts as Kennedy. I hope Octavia Spencer will be considered for Ruth’s sister. Although, Queen Latifah would be good too.

      Like

  1. What a great question, Mama Cass. I love that you asked that. I am sending so many blessings to the answers that come from your heart.

    For me, one of the things I do is to speak kindness best I can, starting with myself. To forgive myself for judging …. to do my best to see the good no matter what the conditions. And to accept and love.

    Thanks for this post. It reminded me especially to see the good. I appreciate that. 🙂
    Blessings, and smiles,
    Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing this. Very touching indeed. Martin Luther King, Jr. has some amazing calls to action … there’s also one about forgiveness being a constant attitude. Have a great week. Good to connect with you. Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi! You are the 365 Daily Challenge “Recommended Blogger” to know today. Just wanted to give you a heads up, thank you for all the great chat and interaction and let you know the post will come out later today. You should receive a “ping-back” notification when it is posted. 🙂 -j

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You are welcome. How to include a pingback in your post? Or how to receive one? As you don’t need to do anything to receive one. It will just show up as a comment in the notification section like this one does.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Great review! This book caused me to have some extreme emotions at times. Leave it to Jodi Picoult to capture someone like that. One of my favorites. ❤ Thanks for sharing…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

shakemyheadhollow

Conceptual spaces: politics, philosophy, art, literature, religion, cultural history

kat loves books

When Reading is just not enough, and the urge to share is overwhelming, you just have to blog.

James J. Cudney

Best Selling Author of Family Drama & Mystery Fiction

Felicia Denise, Author

Living. Loving. One Emotion At A Time.

dragthepen

line by line by line

WriterInSoul

Opinion, insights, thrift, creativity, humor, health, style (or basically all the stuff that interests me😊)

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

you are beloved

the online home of rev. junia joplin

Anne Grange Writing

I will help you to tell your story.

1uppitywoman

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Thinking Pacifism

Reflections on peace and faith

Grace J Reviewerlady

Always honest, never unkind

Iris Graville - Author

Believes everyone has a story to tell.

Thistle Finch

Field notes for free spirits

Brave Spaces

A Quaker Journal

The Postmodern Quaker

An experiment in publishing by George Amoss Jr.

The Wickeds

Wicked Good Mysteries

Sue Rovens

Suspense Lives Here